California Multicultural Society


Celebrating Nowruz with the Haftseen

Enjoying Norooz together begins with creating your Haftseen or the “7 S’s.”

In every home, the haftseen table is decorated and presented with seven items – since seven is considered a lucky number. Each item begins with the letter sin or “S” in Farsi, and each item is a symbol of spring and renewal:

  1. Seeb (apple), representing beauty
  2. Seer (garlic), representing good health
  3. Serkeh (vinegar), representing patience
  4. Sonbol (hyacinth flower), representing spring
  5. Samanu (sweet pudding), representing fertility
  6. Sabzeh (sprouts), representing rebirth
  7. Sekeh (coins), representing prosperity